The Tile Contractors' Association of America (TCAA) will hold its 102nd Annual Convention October 2-5 at Buena Vista Palace Hotel and Spa in Orlando, FL.

The Tile Contractors’ Association of America (TCAA) will hold its 102nd Annual Convention October 2-5 at Buena Vista Palace Hotel and Spa in Lake Buena Vista, FL.

Educational Programs

Ken Simonson, Chief Economist of the Associated General Contractors of America, is set to deliver the keynote address Sunday, October 3.

Additionally, TCAA will host its Learning Exchange for Architects and Designers on October 4 featuring sessions on Manufacturers Warranties and Green and Retrofit Architecture for Tile, Marble & Terrazzo. Learning Exchange offers up to three hours of continuing education credit from AIA. Attendees will receive updated information and personal consultations regarding changes to estate tax provisions and business succession strategies.

A full-day Sustainable Masonry Certification program conducted by the International Masonry Institute is featured for Tuesday, October 5.


2010 Trowel of Excellence Recipients
Boston Tile & Terrazzo Co. of Detroit, MI and KrisStone, LLC. of Roselle Park, NJ, are the most recent companies to achieve Trowel of Excellence certification and will be recognized at the Closing Banquet on Monday, October 4.

Project of the Year Awards
TCAA will honor outstanding projects in both Commercial and Residential tile installations. These projects will be recognized during the Project of the Year luncheon being held on Monday, October 4. The Project of the Year recipients are:

Commercial Category
1st Place:Selectile of California, Inc. (Anaheim, CA)
2nd Place:Trostrud Mosaic & Tile Co., Inc. (Wood Dale, IL)

Residential Category
1st Place:G.M. Sloan Mosaic & Tile Co. (Mundelein, IL)
2nd Place:Port Morris Tile & Marble Corp. (Bronx, NY)

Technical Merit
Technical Merit KrisStone, LLC. (Roselle Park, NJ)


During the Recognition Banquet being held on Sunday evening, the association will recognize the 2010 TCAA architectural student scholarship recipients, Katlyn Springstead, University of Notre Dame and Alison Ledwith, University of Texas at Austin. The 2010 TCAA Family Scholarship recipient is Philip Luppino. These three students, selected by a panel of TCAA judges, have each been awarded $2,000 scholarships due to their academic excellence and the generous support of the TCAA Membership.

For additional information about the TCAA or to register, please contact Carole Damon