The National Kitchen & Bath Association (NKBA) recently recognized kitchen and bath design students with the 2011 NKBA Outstanding Student Awards, while also presenting 11 NKBA-accredited colleges with the 2010 Excellence in Education Awards. The NKBA announced these prestigious honors during the Educators’ Forum at the NKBA’s 2011 Kitchen & Bath Industry Show (KBIS) in Las Vegas.

Eleven NKBA-accredited colleges were awarded the Excellence in Education Award by demonstrating the highest standards of kitchen and bath instruction. Each program submitted two student bath design projects, which were judged using the NKBA Planning Guidelines and NKBA Graphic and Presentation Standards. Each of these 11 schools awarded met the NKBA’s challenging goal of earning an average score of at least 93 out of a possible 100 on its two student designs.

The winning schools and their kitchen and bath design program coordinators are:
Alexandria Technical Community College, Alexandria, MN – Betty Ravnik, CMKBD
Baker College of Auburn Hills, Auburn Hills, MI – Ann Jacob
Boston Architectural College, Boston, MA – Jane Toland
Brigham Young University, Rexburg, ID – Wendy Harris, CKE
East Carolina University, Greenville, NC – Dr. Katherine Swank
Lakeland College, Vermillion, AB, CA – Cynthia Plant
Murray State University, Murray, KY – Cynthia Tubbs
San Diego Mesa College, San Diego, CA – Mimi Moore
Seminole State College of Florida, Heathrow, FL – Cheryl Knodel
University of Georgia, Athens, GA – Jaya Rose
West Valley College, Saratoga, CA – Diane Hurd

The NKBA Outstanding Student Awards

Additionally, the NKBA recognized the top kitchen and bath design students at NKBA-accredited colleges across North America by rewarding top students with a $100 scholarship. More than 30 schools with kitchen and bath design programs accredited by the NKBA each selected a student to honor this year.

The top design students are:
Lisa Godwin, Lakeland College
Elizabeth Enberg, St. Louis Community College
Clarisse McCann, Brigham Young University-Idaho
Alexandra N. Williams, Virginia Tech
Herman McElyea, Lone Star College - Kingwood
Yi Zhang, Weber State University
Patricia Rozonkiewiecz, College of DuPage
Kelsey Warren, Alexandria Technical & Community College
Denise Sacks, Triton College
Robyn Marie Otter, Indiana State University
Beth Simmons, Arapahoe Community College
Shelley Boatwright Johnson, University of North Alabama
Kristin Donnelly, University of Nebraska at Kearney
Melissa Pochinskas, Murray State
Pongtorn Getsom, Art Institute of Philadelphia
Anita R. Johnson, Century College
Tamara McHatton, Brevard Community College
Troy McCartney, Portland Community College-Rock Creek
Marisela McClelland, San Diego Mesa College
Jessica Schafer-Jankoviak, Baker College of Clinton Twp
Meredith Holley, Canada College
Keith Tallant, Portland Community College-Sylvania
Tonya Dean, Baker College of Auburn
Shannon Schaeffer, Art Institute of Las Vegas