Image source: www.nopatternrequired.com



Like millions of others, I too am a “Mad Men” fan, not only for it’s well-written script, but also for the set design, the clothing, but mostly, I like it for the attitude. I’ve always thought I was born in the wrong decade – this show cinched it for me.

Jayne Mansfield's heart-shaped tub.
Image source: www.dianamystery.com

While searching for a suitable image of a bathroom representing the 60s, I quickly realized that blue and pink were the fashionable colors, and I use the word fashionable very loosely here.

Don’t get me wrong, blue and pink are great colors – for newborns. I wonder if the pink theme resulted from Jayne Mansfield’s Beverly Hills, CA, residence, aptly named the “Pink Palace.”

Kalebodur’s Cube and Dot Collections (shown is “Dot”)

As editor ofTILE Magazine, I’ve seen more bathroom images than I care to count. Here are a couple recent releases that stand out, at least for me:

Lea's Slimtech



Growing up, our bathroom floors consisted of a hexagonal mish-mash pattern of linoleum. The sole purpose of tile, at least in our house, was to strategically define/confine the shower area. And don’t even get me started on the reflective/floral wall paper that could singe your hair if the sunlight hit it in just the right spot. I’m sure if my parent’s had the funds, they would have changed things quite a bit. Both were from Turkey and were accustomed to having tile throughout the home, and not just on the floors.

Thankfully, over the years, American consumers have realized the advantages of tile use outside of the proverbial box (bathroom). With the rise in handmade and artistic tile studios, even a basic white tile could become eye candy with one-of-a-kind pieces and mosaic installations adorning it.

Note:This post is part of the 2010 Bathroom Blogfest, now in its fifth year. This edition has brought together 33 bloggers from the U.S., Canada, the UK and India to address the 2010 Mad Men inspired theme “Stuck in the 60s?”

For more information about the blogfest, visitBathroom Blogfest. Look for the tag “#BathroomEXP” on flickr, del.icio.us, Technorati,Twitterand Google, or ‘Like’ onFacebook. Or, contact Whittemore at cbwhittemore@SimpleMarketingNow.com.

Participating bloggers for the Bathroom Blogfest ’10 include:
 
Blogger Blog Name Blog URL
Susan Abbott Customer Experience Crossroads http://www.customercrossroads.com/customercrossroads/
Paul Anater Kitchen and Residential Design http://www.KitchenAndResidentialDesign.com
Shannon Bilby Big Bob's Outlet http://blog.bigbobsoutlet.com/
Shannon Bilby Carpets N More Blog http://blog.carpetsnmore.com/
Shannon Bilby Dolphin Carpet Blog http://blog.dolphincarpet.com/
Shannon Bilby From The Floors Up http://fromthefloorsup.com/
Shannon Bilby My Big Bob's Blog http://blog.mybigbobs.com/
Toby Bloomberg Diva Marketing http://bloombergmarketing.blogs.com/bloomberg_marketing/
Laurence Borel Blog Till You Drop http://www.laurenceborel.com/
Bill Buyok Avente Tile Talk Blog http://tiletalk.blogspot.com/
Jeanne Byington The Importance of Earnest Service http://blog.jmbyington.com/
Becky Carroll Customers Rock! http://customersrock.net/
Marianna Chapman Results Revolution http://www.resultsrevolution.com
Katie Clark Practial Katie http://practicalkatie.blogspot.com/
Nora DePalma American Standard's Professor Toilet http://www.professortoilet.com/
Nora DePalma O'Reilly DePalma: The Blog http://www.oreilly-depalma.com/blog/
Leigh Durst LivePath Experience Architect Weblog http://livepath.blogspot.com/
Valerie Fritz The AwarepointBlog http://www.awarepointblog.com/
Iris Garrott Checking In and Checking Out http://circulating.wordpress.com/
Tish Grier The Constant Observer http://spap-oop.blogspot.com
Renee LeCroy Your Fifth Wall http://yourfifthwall.com/
Joseph Michelli Dr. Joseph Michelli's Blog www.josephmichelli.com/blog
Veronika Miller Modenus Blog http://www.modenus.com/blog
Arpi Nalbandian TILE Magazine Editor Blog http://www.tilemagonline.com/Articles/Blog_Nalbandian
Maria Palma People 2 People Service http://www.people2peopleservice.com/
Reshma Bachwani Paritosh The Qualitative Research Blog http://www.onqualitativeresearch.blogspot.com/
David Polinchock Polinchock's Ponderings http://blog.polinchock.com/
Victoria Redshaw & Shelley Pond Scarlet Opus Trends Blog http://trendsblog.co.uk/
David Reich My 2 Cents http://reichcomm.typepad.com/my_weblog/
Sandy Renshaw Around Des Moines http://www.arounddesmoines.com/
Sandy Renshaw Purple Wren http://www.purplewren.com/
Bethany Richmond Carpet and Rug Institute Blog http://www.carpet-and-rug-institute-blog.com/
Bruce Sanders RIMtailing Blog http://rimtailing.blogspot.com/
Steve Tokar Please Be Seated http://stevetokar.wordpress.com/
Carolyn Townes Becoming a Woman of Purpose http://spiritwomen.blogspot.com/
Stephanie Weaver Experienceology http://experienceology.blogspot.com/
Christine B. Whittemore Flooring The Consumer http://flooringtheconsumer.blogspot.com/
Christine B. Whittemore Simple Marketing Blog http://www.simplemarketingblog.com/
Christine & Ted Whittemore Smoke Rise & Kinnelon Blog http://smokerise-nj.blogspot.com/
Christine B. Whittemore The Carpetology Blog http://carpetology.blogspot.com/
Linda Wright LindaLoo Build Business With Better Bathrooms http://lindaloo.com/